top of page
  • Writer's pictureASA

Oddity #1

Child abuse


Maybe the two different worlds we live in aren’t so different…………..we see the same sunset.

-S.E.Hinton


ADAM

The sound of the river rushing was music to my ears. It had been so long since I had gotten a chance to leave that hellhole of a place I called home. I limped closer to the water, bending down to feel the current but winced in pain when the cold water came in contact with my freshly attained wounds. This brought back memories from last night. I could still hear my father’s screams over the rustling of the leaves around me. I had to get away from here, from this place, because I wanted to forget, I had to forget. The sensation of my father’s slap was still there and the bruise forming on my ribs was yet another testament of what I had been through. It was not the pain I was afraid of, I was familiar with pain, but it was what he said afterwards every single time that will forever haunt me. I was tired of hearing that I was not enough, a mistake, a disappointment, a burden. So I ran away

JESSICA

I was swaying, moving my body to the rhythm of the music. I was pressed up against sweaty bodies, and nobody knew where one ended and the other began. I could feel the vibrations of the very loud music within my very bones. I felt someone’s hands around my waist but I was too high to care, literally. My friend gave me the pill right before we came to club so that I would forget, forget all that I had been through, and so far so good. I had forgotten the slaps of my mother, the punches of my father and the taunts I got afterwards proclaiming that I was just a mistake, that I was nothing to them. So I ran away.




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page